Botha, Strydom shine at FNB Magalies Monster MTB Classic

Botha, Strydom shine at FNB Magalies Monster MTB Classic

 North West Province – Wessel Botha and Danielle Strydom claimed the coveted title of FNB Magalies Monster MTB Classic Champion at the ATKV Buffelspoort on Saturday, 02 June 2018 crossing the finish line in impressive times of 03 hours 06 minutes 03 seconds and 03 hours 44 minutes 42 seconds respectively.

The men’s race was hotly contested with Tyronne White and Philimon Sebona (2017 FNB Magalies Monster MTB Classic Champion) firmly in the mix.

“I finished 2nd at the FNB Magalies Monster MTB Classic in 2017 after experiencing a technical issue with my bike in the final kilometres,” admits Botha.  “After 2017 the plan was to come back to the Monster to win, but I’ve been ill and literally only started training again two weeks ago.  So today I was only going to test my form.  I felt good on the Monster Climb though managing to open a small gap.  I pushed hard until I had a 1 minute lead.  I then decided to ride my own race, keeping my tempo.  I didn’t ride too hard, always keeping something in the tank in case someone managed to catch me.  Winning is a great confidence booster as I will be taking part in the upcoming SA Mountain Bike and Cross Country Champs.  The FNB Magalies Monster is a fantastic race.  The route is great and the last 20km is really tough.  It’s a real monster.”

Making his Magalies Monster debut on the day, White is really happy to be the runner up.  “My father-in-law competed last year and couldn’t stop talking about how hectic it is.  This year we decided to make it a family weekend away.  We’re all staying at the ATKV.  The event was fantastic, really rough and tough.  I’ve never seen so many rocks before.  My plan was to hold my power, ride within myself and finish strong.  It worked.  I am very happy to finish in 2nd place.  I would recommend the FNB Magalies Monster to everyone.  You experience a real feeling of accomplishment when you cross the finish line.”

Defending champion, Philimon Sebona was hoping for a successful title defence, but is happy to round off the podium.  “Wessel Botha came back stronger and had a brilliant race.  He once again broke away at the top of the Monster Climb, the same spot as last year.  I was 30 seconds behind him, but then I crashed and bent my bike’s derailleur.  As a result only nine of the gears were working.  I did, however, have a good race and am happy with my position.  The FNB Magalies Monster suits my riding style.  This year we definitely had more competition, which made it interesting.  I am looking forward to coming back in 2019.”

Danielle Strydom obliterated the field in the women’s race.  “This is the first year that I am riding under-23 and am old enough to take part in the full FNB Magalies Monster (70km),” says Strydom.  “I think I might have left my legs up on the Monster.  My plan was just to see how it goes and then take it from there.   I really enjoyed the race.  Crossing finish line first is an amazing experience.  It definitely makes up for all the climbs.”

Sanet Coetzee crossed the finish line in 2nd place.  “We take part every year and really enjoy the FNB Magalies Monster.  It’s the best MTB race on the calendar.  My plan was to have fun and see where I finish.  Crossing the finish line in 2nd place is a bonus.”

Nicolette Griffioen rounded off the women’s podium.

Keagan Bontekoning completed the +-35km FNB Magalies Monster MTB Classic in 01:30:04.  Brendan van Eeden came in 2nd, while Wicus Breytenbach finished 3rd.

Jone van Eeden claimed gold in the women’s +-35km FNB Magalies Monster MTB Classic in a time of 01:58:20.  Sunique van der Walt came in 2nd, while Rozalia Kubyana finished 3rd.

Shaan Immelman was the first rider home in the men’s +-15km FNB Magalies Monster MTB Classic in a time of 00:37:31.  Ruben Gombos came in 2nd, while Christo Lombard finished 3rd.

Christina (Christelle) le Roux secured the top spot on the podium in the women’s +-15km FNB Magalies Monster MTB Classic in a time of 00:44:24.  Nicole Botha came in 2nd, while Karla Mari Venter finished 3rd.

“Well done to all participants and cycling enthusiasts who came out in numbers and put in sterling performances to continue making this event an outstanding success. This flagship event continues to gain prominence on the South African MTB calendar by not only providing an adrenaline-packed adventure to professional athletes, but also a fun memorable experience for clients, family and friends, along diverse routes with breath-taking scenery. Congratulations to the winners for a well-deserved victory. We look forward to seeing all of you again next year,” says Eric Enslin, FNB Private Wealth CEO.


NEXT UPFNB Platinum Trail Run


Trail runners are invited to share in the fun by taking on the FNB Platinum Trail Run the day after the FNB Magalies Monster MTB Classic.


Date: Sunday, 03 June 2018
Venue (start & finish): ATKV Buffelspoort
Distances, cost & start time: +-24km /R330 / 07:30
  +-12km /R220 /07:45
  +-8km / R140 /08:00


For a sneak peek at what to expect watch our Teaser Video:

 Follow us on Twitter:  @magmonstermtb /@StillwaterTrail

Like our Facebook Page:  Stillwater MTB Events / Stillwater Trail Running

For more information on the FNB Magalies Monster MTB Classic or FNB Platinum Trail Run contact Stillwater Sports on 082 991 0045, email or visit

RESULTS:  2018 FNB Magalies Monster MTB Classic


+-70km FNB Magalies Monster MTB Classic



1 Wessel Botha 03:06:03, 2 Tyronne White 03:10:38, 3 Phillimon Sebona 03:12:18, 4 Brad Potgieter 03:13:23, 5 Marc Pritzen 03:14:08, 6 Pieter Du Toit 03:15:36, 7 Stuart Biesheuvel 03:15:37, 8 Dan Fowler 03:16:59, 9 Jean-Pierre Pienaar 03:17:35, 10 Barend Burger 03:19:00



1 Danielle Strydom 03:44:42, 2 Sanet Coetzee 04:05:45, 3 Nicolette Griffioen 04:08:11, 4 Juliana van Niekerk 04:12:46, 5 Bonny Swanepoel 04:13:34, 6 Erika Bornman 04:14:24, 7 Steph Blane 04:17:41, 8 Claire Watson 04:25:19, 9 Michelle Zulch 04:25:47, 10 Natasha van der Berg 04:29:33


+-35km FNB Magalies Monster MTB Classic



1 Keagan Bontekoning 01:30:04, 2 Brendan van Eeden 01:31:39, 3 Wicus Breytenbach 01:32:02, 4 Shaun Botha 01:34:02, 5 Kirsten Pieters 01:38:07, 6 Willie van Eck 01:38:08, 7 Anton Roelofse 01:38:21, 8 Travis John De Lange 01:39:11, 9 Jonathan Clements 01:40:08, 10 Andries Wessels 01:40:27



1 Jone van Eeden 01:58:20, 2 Sunique van der Walt 01:59:30, 3 Rozalia Kubyana 02:00:53, 4 Chante Payne 02:01:43, 5 Natalie Strydom 02:03:08, 6 Linky Scholtz 02:03:27, 7 Jillian Jacobs 02:06:01, 8 Kaylin Gombos 02:06:03, 9 Chloe Nangle 02:09:46, 10 Debbie Garvey 02:11:21


+-15km FNB Magalies Monster MTB Classic



1 Shaan Immelman 00:37:31, 2 Ruben Gombos 00:38:36, 3 Christo Lombard 00:39:12, 4 Renier Carstens 00:39:13, 5 Andrico Espach 00:40:54, 6 Zander Venter 00:41:31, 7 Ian Immelman 00:44:40, 8 Duncan Sutherland 00:44:43, 9 Gustav Rossouw 00:44:52, 10 Gerthard Roelofse 00:46:35



1 Christina (Christelle) le Roux 00:44:24, 2 Nicole Botha 00:44:24, 3 Karla Mari Venter 00:44:24, 4 Cherise van Niekerd 00:47:03, 5 Andrea Barlow 00:47:03, 6 Julie Boshoff 00:47:05, 7 Elize Edwards 00:47:06, 8 Cameron Capon 00:48:10, 9 Lucia Vermeulen 00:51:01, 10 Melissa-Sue Harmse 00:51:05